Toyota Corolla 2019 in-depth review | carwow Reviews

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 14, 2019
  • This is the new Toyota Corolla! It’s fair to say previous generations of the Corolla (or Auris, as it used to be called) were known for being good value for money, but relatively dull. However, it seems Toyota is looking to put that reputation to bed with the all-new Corolla! But does the interior and drivability match up to the exciting new exterior style, especially when you consider it costs slightly more than a VW Golf or Ford Focus? Join Mat for his in-depth review to find out!
    Instagram - instagram.com/carwowcars
    Facebook - facebook.com/carwowuk/
    Twitter - twitter.com/carwowuk
    Refer A Friend - www.carwow.co.uk/share
    Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you - no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal.
    Visit our site to save money on your new car - bit.ly/carwow-UK
    Oder auch in Deutschland Geld beim Autokauf sparen - bit.ly/carwow-DE
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 1 650

  • Justahumebeing
    Justahumebeing 7 hours ago

    Toyota auris hybrid touring sports is a good lucking car. Everytime I watch his reviews he seems to have a lot against toyota.. But he loves his German car.

  • yiyangcheng
    yiyangcheng 12 hours ago

    Sad how a European corolla has more tech than the American corolla lol

  • nostromo
    nostromo 19 hours ago

    @ carwow Did the car not have eco and power mode, eco mode holds back the acceleration and gradually gets faster, power mode does exactly what it says..... more quickly.

  • tsitas tsitoulis

    STUPID hybrids.....only the dealer can fix.ENDLESS MONEY PITS...

  • Daniel Wolf
    Daniel Wolf Day ago

    Matt can you make a video comparing Hyundai i30,Toyota Corolla,Kia ceed, Ford focus please please please

  • wheelsofdreams
    wheelsofdreams Day ago

    The space in the back is terrible

  • Shida Sree
    Shida Sree Day ago

    Mat I don't like it

  • Matt Renter
    Matt Renter Day ago

    Good grief! £21,000+ for a small family hatchback?!
    I think the rear seat passengers will find it more oppressive than I did in my parents' MG Maestro 30 years ago.
    Lovely looking car though.

  • Brent Fairlie
    Brent Fairlie 2 days ago

    Very ugly

  • Roberto Dela Cruz
    Roberto Dela Cruz 2 days ago

    Is this the same as Toyota Corolla Altis?

  • Hr H
    Hr H 2 days ago +2

    When r u going to do the Camry (in Europe)?

  • Sit Pat
    Sit Pat 2 days ago

    Are you going to sleep with that both soft arm rest

  • View Point
    View Point 2 days ago

    Vauxhall astra esp on the back

  • Adhil Mohamed
    Adhil Mohamed 2 days ago

    It's a great car

  • Hans Pierre
    Hans Pierre 2 days ago

    I don't know if your editor is messing with you but there is no pop up banner. EVER.. Well for a while now so....

  • TheBlackestImp
    TheBlackestImp 2 days ago

    I don't understand all C segment cars with no room for head rear passengers... they are designed as if their low roof allowed them to run at 1000km/h while probably it has an insignificant aerodynamical relevance at their max speed. it's a very stupid fashion which Golf and 308 didn't follow.

  • level 100 boss
    level 100 boss 2 days ago +1

    If that car was a women id kiss her

    • milaman06
      milaman06 Day ago

      you have issues you filthy dog

  • bratnikola
    bratnikola 2 days ago

    OMG, the interior looks so stupid. But, it looked stupid in Auris also. Exterior, the first Toyota ever I liked.

  • Dragoş – Florin Petronescu

    Please... just stop telling us to press on pop-up banners or link under the video.
    4-5 times in one video is getting waaaay to much and annoying. Please stop. We understand when you say it the first time.

  • Pete Sudhana
    Pete Sudhana 2 days ago

    A bit disappointing. The Corolla was once considered the SA gangster’s getaway car of choice....

  • Base Camper
    Base Camper 3 days ago

    What is it with Toyota, concerning apple car play and android? It’s a brand new car so why do you have to wait for them to be added. Surely they could have sorted it before coming to market, it’s the same with the new RAV 4!

    • K F
      K F 2 days ago

      Yeah, really annoying. I've ordered the new Corolla but Toyota can't tell me when CarPlay will come and/or if it can be added later.

  • Jere Heimonen
    Jere Heimonen 3 days ago

    Corolla GRMN is gonna be craaazyyyy!

  • daria morgendorffer
    daria morgendorffer 3 days ago

    10:12 😹

  • ΞύλοΣεΑλαμανα&Ποσειδωνιο

    Crap central console

  • Nipuna D
    Nipuna D 3 days ago

    0:00 Mat did a Doug Demuro

  • 7Korat
    7Korat 3 days ago

    This central screen looks incoherent with dashboard design.

  • Zoltan Benedek
    Zoltan Benedek 3 days ago +5

    This Corolla and the new Mazda 3 are just awesome! Both are ultra reliable, good looking hatchbacks which won't fall apart after the warranty will expire

  • Adeel Nazir
    Adeel Nazir 3 days ago

    Can you review the toyota corolla estate please

  • i.k.X弐号
    i.k.X弐号 3 days ago

    Thankyou

  • Constantinos Vassilakis

    No worries touching the 840d in front.... Review was done!!!
    ieclip.net/video/w5ln_-A3aw0/video.html

  • Hasan Syed
    Hasan Syed 3 days ago

    Mat, we are still waiting for Toyota RAV 4, 2019 and Toyota Corolla touring sports 2019 rewiew. Please make videos of these

  • Sabelo Hlophe
    Sabelo Hlophe 3 days ago

    Toyota has nailed the look of this car and it's bang up to date, equipment wise,. Reason enough to trade off speed and performance and just go right ahead and buy it

  • Mark Daniels
    Mark Daniels 3 days ago

    Not a fan of that interior. I really don't like the look of the infotainment system - it's as if it was added afterwards rather than built in.

  • exiownage
    exiownage 4 days ago

    Interior design fail as always... glad for the german car companies

    • Armin K
      Armin K Day ago

      Some people like it bland I see.

  • letsseeif
    letsseeif 4 days ago

    AURIS! Never heard the name. Always Toyota in Australia. Anyway. "What's in a name....?."

  • Jan Barrett Nielsen
    Jan Barrett Nielsen 4 days ago

    Go right ahead and buy it...but that's the hybrid, which is still a Toyota special - but what about the new Corolla in non-hybrid? It seems like there's a lot of to quirky and non-practical issues going on in the the new Corolla for it to actually compete with boring - but well made Golf - new Focus, new A-class and so forth.
    The infotainment-part looks 10 years old, bulky as a handbag, and the car being less roomy than the other competitors is just...embarrassing since it's all new. And it's supposed to take on the role of the now discontinued Avensis in the estate version also...
    Toyota is (as far as I remember) the secondlargest car-manufacturer in the world, but with the new Corolla it seems like they're settling for mediocre - despite both replacing the model in the one of the most important segments and at the same time making the Corolla the stand in for the larger Avensis.....
    With the germans and the choreans charging the marked with new car-hallelujah constantly (look at Geneva Auto-Show) - it seems an outright bummer - even though it looks good and drives fine.
    Look at the rest of the range...Rav4 - Matchbox-shaped plastic-hell...ok drive, but really ugly.
    Aygo is a terrible turd topped with shit-o-maise.
    In DK there's nothing much left apart from the CHR - which aesthetically resembles a teutonic rendering of Quasimodo - hunchbacked and rather clunky - and strangely wrinkly - and the GT86 - which is a really great drive - I know since I've driven one - but looks and feels rather cheaply designed and build both on the outside and the inside. Fun to drive though.

    Bottomline is that the chorean brands offer the same (or more) for less money, and offers the same (or more) warranty at the same time. Maybe Toyota is giving up being the modern car for the masses?

    If they have, at least there's a new Supra in the mold - only thing is, that they seem to have molded it in the shape of at wheat-bun with all the round and non-creasy-bodywork going on - it looks as if too much yeast was applied...

    And the Yaris? Small, cramped, expensive (I know 2 who drives these on standard wheelbarrow-wheels mostly, not any beauty-queen) and in general not up to modern competition on size, roominess, design or price.

    Volkswagen makes the most complete cars in almost all segments, period. And each and every one of them are so boring to look at, that you might consider buying a cheap 20 year old Alfa, just to please your eyes.

    And I'm not a fan of Volkswagen.

  • Levi Núñez
    Levi Núñez 4 days ago

    I would definitely buy this Corolla

  • Afrika exotics
    Afrika exotics 4 days ago

    toyotarisms

  • Paul BIT
    Paul BIT 4 days ago

    I'd rather pay more than buy your shit grey imports.

  • vali lavi
    vali lavi 4 days ago

    Such a nice car for city

  • Android 16
    Android 16 4 days ago

    What are the chances of a Corolla GRMN?

  • Not Nice
    Not Nice 4 days ago

    this will come in pakistan after 5 years.

  • 刘shapley
    刘shapley 4 days ago

    5.53, hi!!!! camera man, wats up

  • HyperbirdF6
    HyperbirdF6 4 days ago +19

    57MPG is mighty impressive. Do really like this car. Well done Toyota!

  • ygg drasil
    ygg drasil 4 days ago

    Why have I been recommended this video by YT's algorithm? I couldn't give a flying fox about ICE cars. ICE cars are dead, buried, kicked the bucket, gone. Goodbye, thanks for coming, see you in the history books.

  • ABvidblogs
    ABvidblogs 4 days ago

    did he said auris's back seat at 5:50..!!! ;-), it's okay actually nobody cares if it is corolla or auris, people are going to buy for the reliability, blindingly...

  • david archuleta
    david archuleta 5 days ago +4

    2:44 you killed me. Thanx, made my day. 🤣

  • Rocket Avocado
    Rocket Avocado 5 days ago

    3:13 but can you do thisss

  • Ahmad Elkarrany
    Ahmad Elkarrany 5 days ago

    I wish you do the fiat tipo sedan in depth review

  • TreeroyJ
    TreeroyJ 5 days ago

    5:52 what is the car called? 🤣

  • Kyle Schumann
    Kyle Schumann 5 days ago

    It's a great car. I've driven mine over 15k miles in 5 months. Yes I've had the cvt recall issue and it was replaced no problem. Its a good cvt (for a cvt) and I would've bought the manual but I work for a pizza delivery place in heavy traffic and throwing a manual around all day did not sound pleasant to me. It's a great car for corners, has brake torque vectoring and automatic rev matching, so even though it's slow it's fun to throw it around and beat it up knowing it will be reliable as a toyota. Don't let the recall scare you, it's a recall and will be fixed eventually

  • K F
    K F 5 days ago

    Thanks for the review Matt! I just ordered one today 😄👍🏼

  • w3t80y123
    w3t80y123 5 days ago

    please review the new RAV4

  • Jas B
    Jas B 5 days ago +5

    "NO! I'll take my own time, Thank you very much." LMAO

  • Kells G
    Kells G 5 days ago

    The hybrid even better...the chair man...

  • Luka Vujičić
    Luka Vujičić 5 days ago +7

    Testing auto-breaking system behind the new BMW 8 series.. very brave. :D

  • JD hardest
    JD hardest 5 days ago

    Very adorable car

  • Pranave Pranave
    Pranave Pranave 5 days ago

    Please tell about engine spec too....

  • Hamdan Alias
    Hamdan Alias 5 days ago

    TOYOTA MY! Y U NO BRING THIS HATCHBACK TO MALAYSIA!?

  • DT A
    DT A 5 days ago

    2:22 get yourself the Japanese spec where the steering stalk is in the correct place. Then you'll see the position is actually makes sense.

  • Cesar E Quevedo
    Cesar E Quevedo 5 days ago

    Cargo space is horrible in this car. The rear seats are NOT comfortable. I was considering buying one, and then I saw one at the car dealer and said to myself..."No thanks!"

  • ewan thomas
    ewan thomas 5 days ago

    What is Toyota doing to combat the high theft rate on their catalytic converters particularly in London???

  • Rovi J
    Rovi J 5 days ago

    maybe this car is suitable for sale in Indonesia

  • Serekedde Andrew
    Serekedde Andrew 5 days ago

    2:43 had me laughing hahaha ...glove box

  • Mr Pastry
    Mr Pastry 5 days ago

    Lovely car. Why are you doing these fast zoom closeups though? It looks awful.
    Great review as always though. Just not keen on this new style of filming.

  • Daniel
    Daniel 5 days ago

    thr front looks beautiful

    • Daniel
      Daniel 5 days ago

      the rear suprisingly as well

  • Theshen Thaver
    Theshen Thaver 5 days ago

    The infotainment system is quite fugly

  • MrRooney georgee
    MrRooney georgee 5 days ago

    Yeah nice, but spend a little more and get a hot hatch. Boring driving a snail around town.

  • Hunter Hsieh
    Hunter Hsieh 6 days ago

    Really love your videos. Can you do a in-depth review for a 2019 Impreza?

  • XDKX101
    XDKX101 6 days ago

    It's good.. But the top of the range Aqua/Prius C models have all that and more. We've got a 2015 model that has the keyless and proximity entry, led lamps, etc. Matt should definitely review one of those too, not sure how the options would go in the UK

  • Fab144 Channel
    Fab144 Channel 6 days ago

    RealLifeLire wants to know your location

  • Dharav Shukla
    Dharav Shukla 6 days ago

    2:45 got me so much! 😂🤣😅

  • Curious Airlines
    Curious Airlines 6 days ago +1

    Why doesnt the us get cool versions of cars 😟 . We dont get those cool seats or a hybrid.

  • Chris Ng
    Chris Ng 6 days ago

    I see the car, i think of darth vader

  • Winter gogo
    Winter gogo 6 days ago

    🤔 Corolla vs Yaris

  • Abi Ali
    Abi Ali 6 days ago

    Nice looking corolla

  • FluffyShark Datazz
    FluffyShark Datazz 6 days ago

    How come the American one comes standard with apple car play?

  • DrewG75
    DrewG75 6 days ago

    Really nice design. Love it.

  • Ganorabaco oku
    Ganorabaco oku 6 days ago

    Where is head-up display shown in the presentation in Palma de Mallorca??

  • Khaleel Rana
    Khaleel Rana 6 days ago

    its a terrific car looks better than astra and vauxhall for a start.

  • Hello6istech
    Hello6istech 6 days ago +1

    3:49... ‘is a Toyota...’

  • Lloyd Smith
    Lloyd Smith 6 days ago

    Italian job. 🦄. Dry eyes Clear Eyes. Posesion. coins. Oregon boy Alaskin Rodeo collage grad. I'm sorry I didn't keep the coin. donaven boy slipping a falling a dyeing. Afrodiety. Q A Mt Charlston Concract Hot Shot. Dorea DUI cartoon staren down a barrel of a 45. Sevendys Thx mt charlston.

  • Jaroslav Záruba
    Jaroslav Záruba 6 days ago

    the seats look cool af

  • hi
    hi 6 days ago

    wasnt the corolla a sedan?

  • DuudeWhatDoesMineSay

    Stfu about clicking those banners because I'm not gonna.

  • M67v
    M67v 6 days ago

    I quite like these

  • Stas Como estas
    Stas Como estas 6 days ago +1

    Looks nice hatchback… excellent review

  • Jonasp Pulings
    Jonasp Pulings 6 days ago

    We went yesterday tot check the estate version. Because it's thé launch-weekend for it in Belgium i wasn't able to drive it. But it looks and feels great. Normaly next week i will be able tot drive it and i'm really looking forward tot this. The only difficence wil be that it will be thé 2.0 version and an estate. I will chare my experience with it here.

  • Ben Otto Sunderman
    Ben Otto Sunderman 6 days ago

    Is the Toyota Corolla Hatchback Hybrid only available in Europe, or is it also available in the US? It's my understanding that the US will only get the hybrid sedan.

    • Kyle Schumann
      Kyle Schumann 5 days ago

      It's available in the US but not with the same options. I have one with the 2.0 dynamic force engine and cvt (which has been replaced once under recall) in blue flame metallic. As of now there are no hybrid or turbo versions, but still a great car

  • Adam Pluta
    Adam Pluta 6 days ago

    Hey Guys.. and Carwow Team.. You did film this on a new camera I see.. which one?? I'm very interested :D

  • Jean Ferret
    Jean Ferret 6 days ago

    Looks great. Like the dash. Poor boot kills it for me.

  • Perkelenaattori
    Perkelenaattori 6 days ago

    It's not really a Focus competitor anymore. They upsized it so it's more like a replacement for the old Avensis.

  • Eduardo Ramos
    Eduardo Ramos 6 days ago

    This weekend, I went to see the new Corolla. I say that the access to the back seats of the estate it is worst than the saloon version, what is a pity for a family with elder ones.

  • Péter Oláh
    Péter Oláh 6 days ago

    Nooo... The poor load cover.

  • The Truth
    The Truth 6 days ago

    Hugely overpriced.

  • Max Greenwood
    Max Greenwood 6 days ago

    I drive about 20,000 miles a year over a mixture of single carriageways, motorways and country lanes. This hybrid any good for that?

    • K F
      K F 2 days ago

      I drive the Auris Hybrid and i've just ordered the Corolla Hybrid, you'll be fine. The new Corolla is much better at motorway driving

    • Kyle Schumann
      Kyle Schumann 5 days ago

      I've driven over 15k miles in mine since October all over the wintery pothole destroyed roads of michigan. I don't have a hybrid so I can't give you an absolute answer, but mine has been great through the snow, ice, and cratered muddy dirt roads

  • Autothrust 320
    Autothrust 320 6 days ago +9

    11:10 Putting your own life on the line. This man deserves a medal.

  • Nintendo j
    Nintendo j 6 days ago

    Car is boring but u r funny as always

  • Hidzer Azaman
    Hidzer Azaman 6 days ago

    suitable for asean